Flock, Firefox replacement?

I’ve been using flock over the past few days and I just have to say, there’s something here.

So what is Flock?…

Flock is the new web browser for the new web. Namely web 2.0. It is a browser based heavily, seriously heavily, on firefox. It has extensions, tabs (but who doesn’t), toolbar bookmarking, and themes and so on.

So why will it become my default browser?…

A number of reasons. One big one being that it’s a fantastic distraction from my java project. Another being that it has a completely integrated social networking system.

Why is this important? …

Well first off, I’m writing this entry on the blog post feature in flock. If I wanted to I can be logged into my facebook,wordpress, (and if i had them), twitter, flicker, and del.icio.us. Think about it! Think of how many clicks that saves. Whole seconds!

But in all fairness in the time of open ids, multiply online identities, and just plain madness, its nice/brilliant/major distraction (I really have to get back to my java) to have such integration into your web browser, and paves the way for some serious GTD/productive tools.

Will it last?…

Short answer no with a maybe. Long answer absolutely with a depends.
One argument that could be taking against flock is that it depends on the whole social network “fad”. And this is shoot out of the water before it had a chance to get in it. Flock as a program can be craved out and served again. But not like a left over meal. As the links change so can Flock. The other reason for failure: crucial mass. Simple fact of the web. I also don’t think it’ll be a niche either. Like I said there is definite room for GTD tools. So it won’t just be social web junkies.

Final word?…
Flock is excellent. It fulls me with hope. Hope of an accessible universe, especially since facebook added a delete all apps feature!

P.S.
DISCLAIMER: I’m new to blogging. If you found any of this lacking in ability feedback will be appreciated i.e. if it was shit give me a shout.

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Flock, Firefox replacement?”

  1. Nice post, thanks for sharing the Flock love! Critical mass is definitely something we need to keep this thing going, so be sure to tell all your friends! 🙂

    Flock on,

    Evan Hamilton
    Flock Community Ambassador
    evan at flock dot com

  2. […] I’m a big firefox fan, although I have been mightily tempted by Flock if you haven’t noticed! […]

Leave a Reply

